SCHOOME

Image

It was twenty-five years ago (sounds like a line from a Beatles song, doesn’t it?) that the Barca family moved into Waletta Cottage.

 

We had moved to the Hills some ten years earlier and were living very happily in a small modern brick home in Belgrave. We loved living there but we longed for a house with ‘history’. I’ve always loved ‘old stuff’ and some would say that I’ve slipped none too quietly into the category myself.

 

I first saw Waletta Cottage when the then current owner asked me to do some repair work on a damaged leadlight window. The place had an amazing atmosphere (and it still does). I remember telling the owner that if he ever decided to sell his house he should give me a call. He told that me this was highly unlikely to happen, but that he would remember.

 

Several years later I…

View original post 1,311 more words

I live for comments so..........Please Leave a Reply

