It was a very hot day but it was also too good an opportunity to miss. This is the second year that the Town of Belgrave has run their Busker’s Festival. The local community radio station and the Traders Association got together last year and away we went. I missed it last year so heat or no heat I was not going to miss it this year. I dusted off my very ancient old Olympus digital and my grown up son brought his whizz bang modern Olympus and we had a great time. I hurt my back at one stage trying to get an interesting angle but that just serves me right. Do I have a favourite shot? Probably the kid standing on his head. He held that pose for quite a long time while I tried to wake up my ancient camera. He wasn’t posing for me he just liked the way the world looked from that angle. Another favourite….. The small dog. I sat down close to him while he was barking at the people going by, when I called to him he stopped barking, turned around and posed for me. When I had finished he went back to barking at everything that moved. Very cool. As always there were excellent shots ‘that got away’. Sometimes because I would get too interested in the acts and forget to take pictures and sometimes because I could not see that a photo was blurred and did not take another (ancient old camera has a very small screen and in strong light my ancient eyes cannot tell if a shot is crisp or not.) In a way it takes me back to my film days when it was only your instinct that would get you a good shot and you had to wait till the film was developed to find out. As always the performers were interesting but so were the audience. It is often difficult to get good candid shots of ordinary people because they get weird when they see a camera, but on this day in this small town there were cameras everywhere so no one was very worried…… result, some good candids of the crowd. The bloke in the red robes is our local wizard. He’s a cool guy and a welcome character in the area and yes he always dresses like that. I love the dog straining on the leash, he was very upset by something that had just gone out of frame and he was also a bit of a distance from me so I hoped that my hurried shot had worked out. Obviously, it did. The boy with the traditional aboriginal instrument was amazing….circular breathing….quite a skill.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERABelgrave Busker's Festival

Belgrave Busker’s Festival

7 thoughts on “Belgrave Busker’s Festival

    • This bloke has been around our area for a very long time. I’n not sure how old he is but I would say ancient. I’ve spoken to him a couple of times and he is very friendly and cares deeply for the beautiful place in which we live. It is very reassuring to see him walking around (he always walks).

      Like

  1. Pingback: “A man who views the world the same at fifty as he did at twenty has wasted thirty years of his life.” Muhammad Ali | araneus1

  2. Pingback: “Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other.” -John F. Kennedy | Understanding Your Dog

  3. Pingback: One of the great arts of conversation. | araneus1

  4. Pingback: Then She Was Gone. | araneus1

  5. Pingback: Busker’s Festival Belgrave 2014 {25 Photos} | spidersweb

I live for comments so..........Please Leave a Reply

