One of the great arts of conversation.

Image

“A conversation is a dialogue, not a monologue. That’s why there are so few good conversations: due to scarcity, two intelligent talkers seldom meet.” Truman Capote

It was a very warm day, and the entertainment flowed.

No one was the least bit concerned about the bloke with the camera.

Any other day and these shots would have been very hard to get.

Image

This was one of the first shots that I got that day. A longish lens helped. They were aware of me, but they did not seem to care. I guess it helped that I was far enough away to not be able to hear.

“Conversation should be pleasant without scurrility, witty without affectation, free without indecency, learned without conceitedness, novel without falsehood.” William Shakespeare

Image

“Silence is one of the great arts of conversation.” Marcus Tullius Cicero

This lady was listening intently which gave me the opportunity to get in close enough to capture the detail.

Image

Photo Credit: http://www.jimoneill.net/project_template.php?p=convposter

Image

Awesome movie.

There are times when, as a photographer, you feel a bit like the Gene Hackman character. You have captured a moment in a person’s life and frozen it for inspection.

7 thoughts on “One of the great arts of conversation.

  1. I just love street pics. I`d never have the nerve to capture them though. But I love looking at groups of unposed people. So much of what we communicate is in our posture and gestures anyway. Great people pics capture that. Love the first pic in particular.

    Like

    • Festival type situations are easier, so are big city situations. People in these situations are less concerned by a camera.
      An iPhone can be great as long as there is a lot of light (automatic cameras tend to drop the shutter speed in low light).
      A phone camera is less intrusive as everyone has one and EVERYONE is looking at theirs so you don’t draw attention. The main drawback (apart from the slow shutter speed and therefore blurred photos) is the wide angle lens on most phone cameras. This can be overcome by ‘cropping’ but this only works if the original image is crisp as you are literally ‘blowing up’ the image by cropping it.
      All great fun though. Give it a go, we live in a time where ‘film’ costs you nothing and you don’t have to wait a week to see the results.
      Get out there and take a photo of something! Do it!
      Terry

      Liked by 1 person

      • Oh, I`m going one better! My little point and shoot is dying so I`m upgrading, just a tad, to a Nikon SLR thingy. I`m guessing tons of people will tell me to go for this or that, but I`ve ordered it now and I`m looking for to zooming in for a whole lot more fun. Taking pics just opens my eyes out to the world. Great fun, indeed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • I find my self snapping photos everywhere a persons expression or even there body language can tell a whole new story just a quick glance or a twinkle in there eye can tell so much about a person without saying a word

        Liked by 1 person

I live for comments so..........Please Leave a Reply

