“I cook with wine, sometimes I even add it to the food.” W.C. Fields

Image

We are lucky enough to live less than an hour away from the Yarra Valley which is a famous wine region not far from Melbourne. It’s climate produces some of the worlds best white wines, which is a shame as I prefer kick arse reds.

I do the tasting thing none the less but I prefer the challenge of getting a good shot without the use of a flash. At times it is almost impossible, but every now and then you get one that you like.

By the way, that’s my wife on the left and she is not sitting on a stool she really is that tiny. We had not known my son’s girlfriend for very long when this shot was taken but she is very much a part of out family now.

Image

Because the theme has been wine I threw in a shot of my wife with glass in hand from a trip to Adelaide several years ago. Not a great shot but a great lady.

Image

Image

For few years after my eldest son moved to Adelaide to study it was an Easter tradition to turn up to wherever they were living and spend a couple of days chilling out. This usually included a trip to the Barossa Valley wine region. Sadly this no longer happens and the ones who are in this photo have spread out across the globe, the boys all have new girlfriends (except my eldest son who married his). Nothing lasts forever. These were good times.

Image

Image

“Either give me more wine or leave me alone.”
― Rumi

“One should always be drunk. That’s all that matters…But with what? With wine, with poetry, or with virtue, as you chose. But get drunk.”
― Charles Baudelaire

“Give me books, French wine, fruit, fine weather and a little music played out of doors by somebody I do not know.”
― John Keats

It’s hard to argue with any of those quotes.

8 thoughts on ““I cook with wine, sometimes I even add it to the food.” W.C. Fields

  1. Looks like some cracking memories. From an ascetic point of view, I love the “other” shot. The framing is spot on and I love the fact it looks like your son is balancing a teeny tiny helicopter on his hand.

    Like

    • Thank you for the comments they made me smile (in a good way).
      I love the ‘other’ shot also. I also love that others see stuff in my shots that I take for granted. I’m so used to that T-shirt that I didn’t notice that he appears to be balancing it……….. nice catch.
      My extremely ancient semi automatic camera was shooting at ‘one fifth of a second’. Even with the wine bottle monopod the slightest movement from the humans meant no shot.
      I hate bumping up the ASA as it produces a lot of noise, especially in low light, and this old timer will only go to 400 anyway.
      In the old days I never hesitated to use fast film because I like the look of film grain, especially on black and white but for some reason ‘noise’ or digital ‘grain’ just does not do it for me.
      One of the good things about photos is that they remind you to enjoy the good times, while they are happening, because circumstances can change very quickly.
      My life has taken a turn for the better in recent times (partly due to the encouragement from WP people) so I’m doing my best to be in the moment. Thank you for being part of that.
      Terry

      Like

  2. It is hard to argue with any of those quotes. Except maybe being drunk on virtue… Looks like you have summed up some lovely memories. Think I will go have a glass in the same spirit

    Like

    • Thanks for the comment Nika, I agree about the ‘virtue’ bit but I’m not quite famous enough to edit Baudelaire, so I left it as is!
      One of the beauties of WP is that you can gather together photos from different times that relate to the same theme.
      I hope you enjoyed you ‘glass of something’, I almost suggested that at the end of the post but in the end I hoped that it was implied (for those that enjoy that sort of thing).
      Terry

      Like

I live for comments so..........Please Leave a Reply

