Greg: I Remember.

7225165-lg

I don’t remember the first time I met him and, as often happens with people you lose touch with, I don’t remember the last time I saw him either.

He had a creative eye and worked in the business that his father had founded.

Screen Shot 2013-08-12 at 2.51.39 PM

His dad was a builder but somehow ended up with a business which made decorative patterns on glass via sandblasting.
His business gelled with the business I was in at the time and we worked together.
Before he took over his dads business he worked as a shopfitter and I worked for him for a few weeks during my holidays when I was still a classroom teacher.
I loved it and I enjoyed his company.
i-became-insane-with-intervals-of-sanity-edgar-allan-poe-quote-poster
Sometimes creative people have a loose relationship with sanity, and this is how it was with him.
I remember sitting in a car with him while he told me fantastical stories in a language only vaguely associated to English.
In my naivety I thought that I could keep him calm and when he got better he would remember that I had been there for him.
He didn’t, of course.
I found out recently that he had died a few years ago and I still don’t know how.
His brother and partner in the business died just recently and the business that their father had started is now shuttered and closed for business
I feel sad about all of it; the losing touch, the untimely unexplained deaths and the ending of a dream.
Screen Shot 2013-08-12 at 2.54.44 PM
Of all the conversations and all the adventures we had the thing that keeps coming into my mind is a story that he told me about his dad.
Apparently, his dad built their family home with his own hands and every hinge in the house had only one screw in it.
The promise to return and screw the rest of them in was never kept.
It’s funny; the things you remember.
Screen Shot 2013-08-12 at 2.58.11 PM

*

Photo Credit:

6 thoughts on “Greg: I Remember.

  1. So they were all unhinged…
    How sad. Sad to lose touch too, of course, but that`s the way of the world. I think it only bothers us suddenly when our lives get less busy but by then, it`s often too late.

    Like

I live for comments so..........Please Leave a Reply

