The Lie; by Helen Dunmore. A book opinion.

9780091953935-1-edition.default.original-1

 

The Lie by Helen Dunmore

To save you some time I’ll tell you, right up front, I really enjoyed this book.

Why?

In order to answer that you need to know a couple of things about me.

I’m a writer and I am DEEPLY interested in the period before, during and immediately after the First World War. I lost two great uncles in that conflict.

I chose this book to review because it concerns a soldier [British] who served in WW1 and is trying to fit back into his previous life in a small coastal town.

Despite being a writer, or because of it, I’m difficult to please when it comes to novels. If the story and the author’s style does not grab me by the end of the first chapter ——- I’m gone. Life’s too short to waste on average literature.

With ‘The Lie’ I was hooked from the first paragraph.

The author shows great respect for her audience and expects you to keep up as the book alternates been the now [back in England] and the then [in the trenches].

Without giving too much away [because I want you to enjoy this book] the story revolves around three adult characters who grew up together.

To be honest, I’m amazed that a female could write in the first person and understand things that I thought only males could understand; especially about war.

At no time does the author attempt to ‘dazzle’ her audience. The prose is honest and accessible and the emotions are real.

I chose the book because of it’s subject and I had never heard of Ms Dunmore but I will be seeking out more of her excellent work. Fortunately for me, she has written several other books.

In case you were wondering; I received no payment for this opinion [expect for the advance copy of the book].

3 thoughts on “The Lie; by Helen Dunmore. A book opinion.

  1. I *love* Helen Dunmore! I’ve been reading her books for many years–got that signature mix of smart writing with a tinge of occasional uncanny (see “The Greatcoat”, another wartime tale, for example). Enjoy!!!

    Like

    • I was heading towards ‘The Greatcoat’……. you read my mind….. how cool it is that you know who this author is. As I said, I love the way she writes, and I loved that this book didn’t need ‘bad guys’ and explosions. The first person worked really well and there is nothing better than really getting to know a character.
      Thanks for the comment, you have spurred me on to read more of her stuff. Another excellent book from the same era is ‘Bereft’ by Chris Womersely [and Aussie]

      Like

I live for comments so..........Please Leave a Reply

