Friends With Great Women.

44cb61c9cd6cda3059d97b05a953f57c

“There is not much future in men being friends with great women”

Ernest Hemingway.

I tried once; it didn’t end well.

My fault.

I was young and thought that the world would embrace my passion, or move out of the way, whichever was needed.

She was the first truly powerful female I had come across, and despite my mild misogyny, she liked me; what were the chances?

It was lucky that my skills were in demand otherwise I doubt that she would have put up with me. We worked well together and she went out of her way to make my job easier.

After a couple of years, circumstances necessitated that I work on the other side of town. She took my departure personally and I was too young to understand that I had walked away from an amazing opportunity. I learned a lesson and vowed that if I was ever lucky enough to find myself in a similar situation I would make the most of it and live each day as if it were likely to end at any moment.

Friendship is hard work at the best of times.

Friendships with women are, at best, a tightrope walk over Niagra Falls. Add the word ‘great’ to the beginning of the description and the odds go through the roof.

Despite the astronomical odds, it is worth the gamble.

Great people do not come into your life every day, but when they do, you should grasp the opportunity with both hands.

Better still, you be that ‘great’ person, and let others worry about the details.

4 thoughts on “Friends With Great Women.

  1. very nice. you may have noticed from my little attempts at this sort of thing that I have a great appreciation for work that paints women as dynamic and movers of wolds. so, I like this very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks dm. I’m lucky enough to be surrounded by amazing women….. it wasn’t always that way. It seems to have happened over the last couple of years. Maybe, they were always there and I was just to preoccupied to notice?

      Like

  2. If you truly connect with yourself and accept the challenge that that poses you are a great person in your own right, and a women who is also brave enough to be herself and to recognise that the beauty of a moment can be as important as any plans would be proud to be seen with you. The puzzle comes in that it takes quite a few years to learn that and you might be near dying before you do. Oh the pain of glimpsing paradise before you die and move onto a kind of hell which you discover is never to escape from common sense and to be prudent for eternity

    Liked by 1 person

I live for comments so..........Please Leave a Reply

