Virtual Papercut

Untitled 5 (3)

Yesterday I spent many painful hours pasting up my latest novella (which is due for publication on March 31st). This completes the final stage in a long process. The paperback version will not arrive until the 7th of April which is a full week after the eBook release, but I don’t mind. There is a deadly calm on the day after a book is completed. In place of that nagging feeling ‘something needs to be completed’, comes a sort of fog. Of course, there is another book well under

The completion of the final stage of a long process.

The paperback version will not arrive until the 7th of April which is a full week after the eBook release, but I don’t mind.

There is a deadly calm on the day after a book is completed. In place of that nagging feeling ‘something needs to be completed’, comes a sort of fog. Of course, there is another book well under way, but for today, I want to sit and reflect on the process.

I’m thinking back to the moment that I got the idea for the short story which grew into a novella.

It is a wondrous and terrible thing to create something out of nothing.
We had a spooky moment last night when we were watching an episode of an American TV show, and a scenario came up which mimicked a chapter in my book. Scotty said, “That’s just like that bit from your book!” She was right — different, but the same. I remember my editor saying that he was not sure that anyone would do that in real life! That episode was written four years ago, and I had not seen it before.
Even though I have to wait until April 7th to hold a copy of my book, you can go to Blurb and buy a copy right now. (but don’t tell anyone I told you).
This book is a departure for me. It is very much ‘adults only’ reading. In the past, I have steered away from intimate descriptions. This and my next novel explore more of the private side of personal relationships.
I’m looking forward to holding my new book in my hands, but in the meantime, I’ll be remembering the journey that brought her to fruition.

http://au.blurb.com/b/6967391-keeper-of-secrets

I live for comments so..........Please Leave a Reply

