OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

About 16 years ago I stopped mowing the back lawn. I was not very well and the lawns were not the only things that were neglected but on the bright side, a series of oak trees sprouted next to our one hundred and sixteen year old oak. One is very close to the house and will have to be moved but the others are fine where they are. Naturally, in winter they lose their leaves and it can be quite hard to see the end of the branches in low light. I did not want to go blind and I did not want the young branches damaged so I tied a series of white ‘ribbons’ made from an old sheet on to the end of the branches as a warning to wanderers in the night. It worked quite well and this shot is at the beginning of last Spring as the new leaves begin to sprout.

Tie a White Ribbon on a Young Oak Tree

2 thoughts on “Tie a White Ribbon on a Young Oak Tree

  1. Pingback: He Who Loves An Old House. | araneus1

  2. Pingback: The White Ribbon: Two Years On. | araneus1

I live for comments so..........Please Leave a Reply